I have been thinking for a while now about deleting my Facebook profile because it’s not serving its purpose anymore and there’s too much noise and clutter coming from it. However, once I delete my profile, I will no longer be able to use my messenger. So what I’ve decided to do is remove all photos, leave all the Facebook groups I’ve joined, and unlike all pages. I want to strip my profile 95% of all content I’ve posted, photos I’ve uploaded, etc.

First hurdle, downloading all my photos. I have uploaded thousands of photos over the years so I thought it would take me forever to download everything. But after a quick search on Google, I have found the perfect solution.

To download all your albums and photos at once, here’s how to do it:

On your Facebook account, go to Settings & Privacy then Settings.

Facebook Profile Settings

Once you’re on Settings, go to Your Facebook Information tab then proceed to ‘Transfer a Copy of Your Information’.

Your Facebook Information

Before you are able to transfer a copy, you will be asked to enter your password again for security purposes.

To start transferring a copy of your information, choose what information you want to transfer, date range, and where you want it transferred. If you have a Gmail account, then you can choose Google photos.

Considering I have tons of photos, the entire process took approximately 8 hours to complete. To see if the transfer was, indeed, successful, I checked my Google photos and I’m happy to report that all my photos were copied without any errors.

Another way to check, go back to ‘Transfer a Copy of Your Information’. You will see at the bottom if the request has been completed (as seen in the screenshot below).